What is नवरात्रि?

Navaratri is a conjunction of two words “Nava” (meaning “nine”) and “Ratri” (meaning “night”). It is celebrated in the autumn every year.

Why do we celebrate नवरात्रि?

It is observed for different reasons and celebrated differently in various parts of the Indian subcontinent. We will see two of those.

1) Killing of Mahishasura

One of the fiercest daemons, Mahishasura undertook severe penance to obtain a boon that he cannot be killed by a male, underestimating at his own cost the power of the female form and started creating havoc everywhere. To stop him, Shakti took a very beautiful form of Durga and told him that she would marry him if he defeats her in a battle. It is believed that they battled for 9 days, and on the 10th day, Durga killed Mahishasura. Therefore the 10th day is called Vijayadashmi, the day of the victory. One of the most famous idols that you see in temples depicts this scene where Mahishasura, in the form of a half bull, is being slain by Mother Durga.

2) Lord Rama praying to Goddess Durga

Another legend has it that Lord Rama fasted and prayed for 9 days to seek Goddess’ blessings to kill Ravana. He kills him on the 10th day, and this day is called Dusshera, the day when the 10-headed Ravana was killed.

The word “Navaratri” Spread over 9 nights and 10 days, it is one of the most sacred festivals in India where we worship Goddess Durga or Shakti, which represents the energy of the universe, in her 9 beautiful forms with great reverence. During the period of 9 days of Navratri, 9 forms of Durga, called nav-Durga, are worshiped in the following order:

  1. Shailaputri: She is the primal energy of the trident Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva, and was born as the daughter (Putri) to Himalayas (Shaila – mountains)
  2. Bhrahmacharini: This form represents penance and austerity leading to blissfulness and moksha
  3. Chandraghanta: Represented as 10-armed mother riding a lion, she adores a bell-shaped (ghanta) moon (Chandra), and is the slayer of evil forces.
  4. Kushmanda: Literally meaning “little warmth cosmic egg”, she is the creator of the universe
  5. Skandamata: She is the mother of Skanda, or Kartikeya, the chief warrior of Gods.
  6. Katyayani: As a daughter of sage Katyayan, she is a fierce form of Durga.
  7. Kaalratri: As the death of Kaal (time), she showcases the other side of life – death. She is the most terrible and ruthless form of Durga.
  8. Maha Gauri: She represents calmness and grants wisdom to her devotees.
  9. Siddhidatri: The fulfiller of all the wishes and giver of boons.

(photo credit: Navdurga)

Wish you all a Happy Dussehra in Advance!
May this Dussehra clear all…..
hurdles of your life
and start new era of Wellbeing 

રાવણ બનવું પણ ક્યાં સહેલું છે…
રાવણ માં અહંકાર હતો તો પશ્યતાપ પણ હતો,
રાવણ માં જો વાસના હતી તો સંયમ પણ હતો,
રાવણ માં જો સીતાજી નું અપહરણ કરવાની તાકાત હતી, તો અનુમતી વગર પરસ્ત્રી ને સ્પર્શ ન કરવાનો સંકલ્પ પણ હતો.
સીતાજી જીવીત મળ્યા એ રામની તાકાત હતી,
પણ પવીત્ર મળ્યા એ રાવણની મર્યાદા હતી.
રામ તમારા યુગ નો રાવણ સારો હતો,
ચહેરા દસ હતા પણ બધા સામે હતા.
મહેસુસ કર્યુ છે ક્યારેય,
એ બળતા રાવણનું દુઃખ,
જે સામે ઉભેલી ભીડ ને વારંવાર પુછેં છે કે તમારા માંથી કોઇ “રામ” છે ખરૂં?…

હેપી દશેરા

Leave a Reply